Riverside:

(951) 667-5293

Orange County:

(714) 758-5293

who you hire can make all the difference

Mr. Donath has spent his entire career defending people and standing up for the rights of the accused.

request a free consultation
  • former deputy public defender

    As a former Deputy Public Defender in Riverside County, Mr. Donath has always been on the defense side of the law. 

  • award winning certified criminal law specialist

    Top 100 Trial Attorneys in California 2012-2014, 2008 Trial Attorney of the Year by the Riverside County Public Defender's Office, and dozens of other awards and accolades.

  • a true passion for defending the accused

    Your lawyer should have a passion for defense, not just a passion for money. Reputation, vigor, and determination go a long way in this business.

Request Consultation

request a free confidential consultation

*all fields are required

Riverside Robbery Attorney

Committing robbery can go beyond the classic “stick up” scenario. In fact, you may commit an offense in a way you did not consider possible. Since the California laws regarding robbery are so intricate, it’s wise to meet with a Riverside robbery lawyer to go over the details of your unique charges.

There are several ways you can be charged with robbery:

  • Breaking into a home and stealing property that belongs to someone else (you may also be charged with burglary under the state’s laws).
  • Stealing from someone who is unconscious.
  • Threatening an owner of property with physical harm as you attempt to escape.

In the state of California, robbery is always classified as a felony. However, the degree of the felony, as well as the punishment, depends on the individual circumstances surrounding the crime. Again, for detailed information surrounding your charges, schedule your free consultation with our award-winning Riverside criminal defense attorney.

To be charged with a first degree felony, one of the following elements must be present:

  1. The robbery takes place while the victim is using or just finish using an ATM.
  2. The robbery occurs in an inhabited dwelling (like a house or a boat).
  3. The victim is a passenger or driver of a transportation device – i.e., a train, car, or taxi.

First degree felonies are the most serious offenses and can result in a jail sentence of 3-6 years and up to $10,000 in fines.

Burglaries under all other circumstances are classified as second degree felonies. These crimes tend to be punished less harshly, but can still carry a jail sentence of 2-5 years and up to $10,000 in fines. In some cases, judges will consider felony probation.

What to Do When You Are Charged With Robbery in Riverside

If you are arrested on robbery charges, exercise your right to remain silent. When you are taken into custody, you should be polite and courteous to the arresting officers, but do not volunteer any information about the alleged crime. Police officers are trained to get you to confess, so you do not want to accidentally give away any information that could incriminate you. You should ask for legal representation as soon as possible. Do not answer any questions or sign any documents without a lawyer present.

Once the initial arrest is over, your legal team can go to work building your defense. Like any criminal charge, the defenses we craft hinge on our clients’ histories and the circumstances of their incidents. However, we also know that it is important to keep our clients informed, so here are some tactics we may be able to use to get your sentence dismissed or reduced:

  • Lack of force or fear. The main sticking point in a felony robbery charge is the use of “force or fear” to take property that is not yours. If you did not use these, you still may be charged with another type of theft crime, but these carry lesser penalties than first degree robbery.
  • Perceived right of ownership. In some cases, you may honestly believe you had a claim to the property you took. This type of defense may work in domestic situations. For example, say you gave an ex-spouse some money but realized he or she was going to use it for something other than what you gave it for. If you forcibly took the money back, you may initially be charged with robbery. Your legal team can use what is known as a “claim of right” defense to say the robbery did not occur.

We Will Work as Your Riverside Robbery Attorney

No matter the circumstances of your particular crime, we will work hard to reach the best outcome possible, whether that is a reduced charge or an outright dismissal. Contact us today for expert legal counsel from an award-winning Riverside robbery lawyer. All initial consultations are free, whether you end up hiring the Law Offices of Graham D. Donath, APC or not.